- New Here?
History of St James
Who is Cameron Park named after? Why does King Street bear that name? Where did the property “Aberfeldy” get its name?
The clue to answering these and other questions lies hidden away at the end of King Street, Turramurra. St James Anglican Church has been at the heart of its community for over 100 years, and the history of our suburb is inextricably bound up with the history of the church.
In 1899, the St James congregation commenced meeting at its present site between King Street and St James Lane, under the leadership of Rev. Raymond King. The key members of this early congregation were also the key families in the district – names including Chilton (orchardists on what is now Chilton Parade), Du Faur (instrumental in the gazetting of Ku-ring-gai Chase) and Hordern (of retailing fame). Carl Lamy, a keen member of St James from 1917 to 1957, built the property “Aberfeldy” nearby.
Rev. Ronald Cameron was Rector of St James from 1911 – 1949. At his retirement, Ku-ring-gai council recognised his service to the community by naming Cameron Park in his honour. Over the past 100 years, St James has continued to be a home to a vibrant worshipping community which puts its faith into action in the wider world. Memorials in the church are a virtual Who’s Who of key figures in Turramurra and beyond, honouring congregation members like Grace Cossington-Smith and Brig. Gen. Austin Anderson for their service to the wider community.
St James has always been active in serving Jesus by serving its community, and continues to do so. We’d love you to be a part of this too. Come and discover this hidden treasure for yourself.
Throughout the centuries many romantic and historical events have evolved with the beautiful scallop shell as a symbol. Buildings in ancient Pompeii were ornamented with scallop shell designs. During the Crusades scallop shells were the symbol of holy pilgrimages and one European variety is still referred to as "the pilgrim" or "St. James' shell."